Bombings in Kyiv — more exhausting days at war

Aimee Fenech
2 min readMar 16, 2022

The in laws can hear bombs around Kyiv. Writing that makes a hollow feeling in the stomach as I hold my breath. For a moment I imagine what my niece and nephew must feel like. Tears hang on the edge, I feel very sad and frustrated and angry and helpless and afraid… a long list of unpleasant terrifying emotions.

My friend in the meantime is settling into life here. We had a couple of days of rough weather with big sand clouds and then muddy sandy rain. Everything looks and feels a mess. An apt comparison with the world, not only right now but in general.

I’ve been limiting my time on social media and the news in an effort to concentrate on the work with some success. All meetings start with a run down of this unfortunate situation.

There’s been this feeling that I’m “wasting” time doing work that isn’t helpful. I could be doing more, more meaningful things, more useful…

I feel conflicted.

In the meantime the three of us here keep coordinating evacuations from Ukraine with mixed results. I have a meeting tomorrow with the local priest who is going to Poland to bring back refugees to the village.

I hope that I can help somehow.

In the meantime the Ukrainians who escaped from Russia are new on our list of people who…

--

--

Aimee Fenech

#permaculture practitioner, teacher and designer, co-founder of #ecohackerfarm, writer, project manager and activist get in touch mail@aimeefenech.com