Photo by Samuel Regan-Asante on Unsplash

Effective Altruism

Aimee Fenech
7 min readJan 24, 2023

--

By chance I was trying to find accommodation on Airbnb last summer when I noticed a nice room with a profile that said, “our son works at the local Effective Altruism office”. The day after, in my reading recommendations from pocket I saw a piece from The New Yorker about the very same subject so with my curiosity peaked I dug a bit deeper.

William MacAskill is one of the founders and seemingly it started as an inspired idea from reading Peter Singer’s 1972 paper “Famine, Affluence, and Morality,”.

If you have not read the paper perhaps you should, it reminds us that suffering and death that are occurring are not inevitable and not unavoidable. It calls and tugs at our moral duty to do better. It reminds us of how our choices reflect our values. It reminds me in a small way of how easy it is to look away.

--

--

Aimee Fenech

#permaculture practitioner, teacher and designer, co-founder of #ecohackerfarm, writer, project manager and activist get in touch mail@aimeefenech.com