the authors blanket

Sticks and stones, broken bones

Aimee Fenech
2 min readApr 29, 2022

More days at war.

I have been quite tired after our trip to Malta, I am happy to be home though. The Sunday fundraising event is coming up and I feel still quite unprepared, although at least I have help.

Jobs are coming up so we have some pointers for the Ukrainian refugees staying in town.

I spent some time today sitting in the sun and processing what is going on for me and taking care of Black who was bitten a few days ago and now has an infected wound.

My father in law in the meantime said he now cannot leave Kyiv because he has broken his foot which is really a shame because frankly it is not safe. The Russians have a big day coming up Victory Day on the 9th of May. Given how badly this is going for them I have a bad feeling about something terrible for that day. It is only my fear. I really don’t know.

The trains are still running from Kyiv to Poland if I were my in-laws I would sit on a wheelchair and go on the train with a box of pain killers. But I am not them and they have chosen to wait again.

I am monitoring the facebook groups a lot of women and children who have not been able to find a place to stay and jobs in Poland are looking for ways back into Ukraine, some of them only to realise that their apartments and homes no longer exist and have to…

--

--

Aimee Fenech

#permaculture practitioner, teacher and designer, co-founder of #ecohackerfarm, writer, project manager and activist get in touch mail@aimeefenech.com