The war lens

Aimee Fenech
3 min readApr 1, 2022

I take a deep breath in and for a moment lean back into my checkered pillow in the sun as the wind tugs at my hair and sings in my ears.

The news offers me on the same page a picture of an exploded Russian oil depot, news that the Russians won’t be cutting off the gas yet if not paid in Roubles, some nonsense about Depardieu, some relationship nonsense and an article about 10 films I should watch in April… we live in a dystopian reality but I guess this is nothing new. What is new is my own perspective, that I care not only superficially about the war but that people I know are directly involved.

I am in no mood for reading about nonesense or watching some movie or reading about romance, I do not want to be distracted.

Off the news site I check reports from the people I know always with the deep dark fear that they might no longer exist. One of my friends who used to live in Chernivih, an artist now makes beautiful but incredibly sad art.

Here’s her an example of her work:

Image by https://www.instagram.com/albina.kolesnichenko/ a Ukrainian artist

She writes about her reasons for fleeing as if she had to justify them if only to herself. No justification is needed. I see this is a common trend, women feel guilt for leaving and…

--

--

Aimee Fenech

#permaculture practitioner, teacher and designer, co-founder of #ecohackerfarm, writer, project manager and activist get in touch mail@aimeefenech.com