Two months into war

Aimee Fenech
2 min readApr 24, 2022

Yesterday people gathered at my parents house to celebrate our wedding with a drink and some cake in Malta. Meanwhile in Ukraine my mother in law and my father in law took a moment to go for a short walk around the area in the good weather, today Anton called them while we were at a nice Easter egg hunt with my nephews, friends and their children. For a few hours the world was a bright sunny happy place where childhood memories were made. Happy children’s faces and harvesting fresh peas was a real balm for the heart.

In the meantime Anton’s parents are still outside of Kyiv and have now started to think about the possibility of leaving and finding out how that would work for them. The situation despite the retreat of Russian troops from Kyiv remains still critical. It would be naive to think that they are safe. Bombings continue. The destruction in Kyiv hasn’t magically been undone. It is going to take years to rebuild.

One wonders what is next then. Attacks continue in the East and on the South coast, Mariupol is still under heavy attack and Odessa is being bombed. I take a deep breath in and wonder as I lay back in bed warm and fed how many go without. As I yearn to go home on Wednesday I wonder how many have no home to go back to. As I count my blessings I wonder how many curse their luck.

Art from Albina: https://readymag.com/u1510396988/AlbinaKolesnichenko/ a Ukrainian artist

--

--

Aimee Fenech

#permaculture practitioner, teacher and designer, co-founder of #ecohackerfarm, writer, project manager and activist get in touch mail@aimeefenech.com